Our undergraduate community

JCR formal

JCR formal

The Junior Common Room (JCR) is the formal undergraduate student organisation of the College. The term JCR refers to both the communal social areas in College allocated for undergraduates, as well as the undergraduate body as a whole, which numbers around 400 students at St Hugh’s.

The JCR is run by an annually elected committee who are responsible for representing JCR views to Governing Body and College Officers. The committee hold fortnightly JCR meetings, run by an independent chair, and open to the whole JCR community who can attend to question the committee and pass motions mandating the committee to act on their behalf.

The JCR is also the social hub of undergraduate life, arranging entertainments, parties and cultural activities; it also helps allocate funds to the sports and other clubs within College, and provides welfare support through appropriate JCR Officers.

 JCR Committee 2016/17

JCR President
Ana Pavlova (BA Economics and Management)
Edward Piggott (BA Archaeology and Anthropology)
Curtis Crowley (BA Classics)
James Brown (BA Economics and Management)
Access and Academic Affairs
Sophie Roche (BA Medical Sciences)
Male and Minority Genders (MMG)
Welfare and Equal Opportunities
Cameron East (BA Medical Sciences)
Women and Trans-feminine Identities (WTI)
Welfare and Equal Opportunities
Rosie Tabor (BA History)
Elise Page (BA English Language and Literature)
Tatjana Marks (BA Human Sciences)
Entz (Social Secretary)
James Atkey (MPhys Physics) , Nathan Peters (BA Physics)
Environment and Ethics
Ben Jones (BA Philosophy, Politics and Economics)
Charities & Community
Hannah Taylor (BA Economics and Management)
Sports & Societies
Harry Thomas (MPhys Physics)
DoDO (Director of Digital Operations)
Hannah Choi (BA Biomedical Sciences)
Freshers Rep
Theo Davies-Lewis (BA Archaeology and Anthropology)

For more information please see the JCR’s website.