Skip to main content

Professor Stuart Conway

E. P. Abraham Cephalosporin Fellow in Organic Chemistry

Stuart Conway is a Professor of Organic Chemistry at the University of Oxford, and the E. P. Abraham Cephalosporin Fellow in Organic Chemistry at St Hugh’s College, Oxford. He studied Chemistry with Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Warwick before undertaking PhD studies with Professor David Jane and Professor Jeff Watkins FRS in the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Bristol. Stuart completed post-doctoral studies with Professor Andrew Holmes FRS at the University of Cambridge working on the synthesis of inositol polyphosphates. In 2003, he was appointed as a Lecturer in Bioorganic Chemistry at the University of St Andrews, in 2008 was appointed as an Associate Professor at Oxford, and in October 2014 he was promoted to Full Professor.

Between March and August 2013 Stuart was a Visiting Associate at the California Institute of Technology, hosted by Professor Bob Grubbs and Professor Dianne Newman. Since 2016 he has been an Associate Editor for the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry and is on the Editorial Advisory Board for Organic Chemistry Frontiers. Stuart is the President of the RSC Organic Division. His research focuses on the development of molecular tools to enable the study of biological systems. This work has been recognised by the award of the 2012 Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia by the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry, and the 2016 Lectureship of the Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Section of the RSC.


  • C. Cazares-Körner, I. M. Pires, I. D. Swallow, S. C. Grayer, L. O’Connor, M. M. Olcina, M. Christlieb, S. J. Conway, E. M. Hammond, CH-01 is a hypoxia-activated prodrug that sensitizes cells to hypoxia/reoxygenation through inhibition of Chk1 and Aurora A. ACS Chem. Biol., 2013, 8, 1451-1459.
  • D. S. Hewings, O. Fedorov, P. Filippakopoulos, S. Martin, S. Picaud, A. Tumber, C. Wells, M. M. Olcina, K. Freeman, A. Gill, A. J. Ritchie, D. W. Sheppard, A. J. Russell, E. M. Hammond, S. Knapp, P. E. Brennan, S. J. Conway, Optimization of 3,5-dimethylisoxazole derivatives as potent BET bromodomain ligands. J. Med. Chem., 2013, 56, 3217-3227.
  • M. N. Stanton-Humphreys, R. D. T. Taylor, C. McDougall, M. L. Hart, C. T. A. Brown, N. J. Emptage, S. J. Conway, Wavelength-orthogonal photolysis of neurotransmitters in vitro. Chem. Commun., 2012, 48, 657-659.
  • D. S. Hewings, M. Wang, M. Philpott, O. Fedorov, P. Filippakopoulos, S. Picaud, C. Vuppusetty, B. Marsden, S. Knapp, S. J. Conway, T. D. Heightman, 3,5-Dimethylisoxazoles act as acetyl-lysine-mimetic bromodomain ligands. J. Med. Chem., 2011, 54, 6761-6770.
  • N. S. Keddie, Y. Ye, T. Aslam, T. Luyten, D. Bello, C. Garnham, G. Bulynck, A. Galione, S. J. Conway, Development of inositol-based antagonists for the D-myo-inositol 1,4,5-trisphosphate receptor. Chem. Commun., 2011, 47, 242-244.
Professor Stuart Conway
E. P. Abraham Cephalosporin Fellow in Organic Chemistry
Academic - Fellows & Lecturers