Skip to main content
3 February 2016

Latest News

Avril Gilchrist Bruten Award for Creative Writing

The Avril Gilchrist Bruten Award is a prize of £250 for the best piece of creative writing entered by either a current undergraduate or graduate student of St Hugh’s College.

Categories of writing that are included in the scope of the Award include: poetry; short prose fiction; drama; memoir and life writing; travel writing. However, submissions must be no more than 6,000 words in length, written in English, and typed, rather than handwritten. All submissions should be returned to the College Office.

Entries should not include the name of the author, instead, a phrase or motto should be written on the first page of the entry, while a separate sealed envelope with the same motto will enclose a sheet with their name on it. The winner will be announced later in Hilary Term during an event at which extracts from some of the entries will be read, entrants are taken to have given their permission for their entry, or an extract form it, to be printed in the College Chronicle or Newsletter, should the editors wish to do so.

Deadline for submissions: 12.00pm, Tuesday 16th February
Award event & announcement: Friday 4th March

The judge in 2016 will be the poet and St Hugh’s alumna Alison Brackenbury.

Share this post

Related News Posts

St Hugh’s Honorary Fellow, Dr. Subra Suresh, presented with two of the highest scientific honours
Congratulations to Honorary Fellow, Dr. Subra Suresh, who has been presented with two awards in recognition of his work in engineering science. The fi...
Read More
St Hugh’s Lecturer in Medicine receives MSD Teaching Excellence Award
Congratulations to Olly Feathersone, St Hugh's Lecturer in Medicine and full-time DPhil candidate in the
Read More
St Hugh’s Fellow appointed Simons Foundation Investigator
Congratulations to St Hugh's Tutorial Fellow in Mathematical Biology, Professor Ruth Baker, who has been appointed Simons Foundation Investigator. ...
Read More