Skip to main content

Middle Common Room

Our Graduate Community

Welcome to St Hugh’s! At St Hugh’s we are known for our friendly, vibrant social atmosphere and two adorable cats, Professor Biscuit and Admiral Flapjack. Our students are from all over the world. Throughout your time here, you’ll get to enjoy our beautiful gardens, which make you feel like you are in Alice’s Wonderland. We regularly have events, including Tuesday Formals, Friday Socials, and Sunday Welfare Brunches. The MCR Committee is here to organise these events for you so you can have the best time possible while in Oxford! We are also here to represent you at College and University levels, so don’t hesitate to reach out! Hope you all have a lovely time here.

Edie Guo, MCR President 2022.
Graduate House Principal's Drinks Kitchen in Graduate House Graduates enjoying the gardens West Lawn MCR Lounge Principal's Drinks MCR Lounge MCR students on croquet lawn

The Middle Common Room or MCR is both the graduate student body of College, and the physical building at 87 Banbury Road, a social common room and workspace for all graduate students. The role of the MCR is to offer a space of respite and security from the at-times stressful Oxford academic life, and create a space where community and individuals can thrive. The annually elected MCR Committee represents your interests within College and organises various events. With over 400 members, the St Hugh’s MCR is one of the largest graduate student common rooms in Oxford. Its members include international and local students, clinical medics, visiting students, and affiliate members, bringing together a vast range of academic interests and a wealth of experiences and backgrounds. Despite its size, the MCR retains a homely feel, and hosts a wide variety of social and welfare events throughout term time and during the vacation period.


MCR Committee 2022

President:Edie Guo (DPhil Women's and Reproductive Health)
Vice-PresidentEd Nathan (DPhil Astrophysics)
SecretarySiobhan Hall, (DPhil Surgical Sciences)
Social SecretariesCaroline Taylor (DPhil English)
Florence Smith (DPhil History)
Wining and Dining OfficersDeborah Miori (DPhil Mathematics of Random Systems [CDT])
Ricardo de Luca e Tuma (Medicine)
Welfare OfficersNicola Carutenuto (DPhil History)
Bilge Yilmaz (MSt Music (Performance)
Sports RepresentativeMatthijs de Buck (DPhil Clinical Neurosciences)
Environment and Charities RepresentativeYue Chen (DPhil Engineering Science)
Academic RepresentativeAnna Henderson (MPhil Classical Archaeology)
International Students' RepresentativeKiana Collins (DPhil Cancer Science)
Equalities RepresentativeVedika Maheshwari (MSt Film Aesthetics)
IT RepresentativeSiyu Tang (DPhil Archaeology)
Access OfficersJake Fawkes (DPhil Statistics)
Freshers RepresentativesElected in Trinity Term