Skip to main content
8 March 2019

Latest News

St Hugh’s Torpids success

Both the women’s and men’s seconds earned a place in fixed divisions this year in Torpids meaning they will no longer have to compete for a place in bumps. Instead, both crews will automatically qualify without the “rowing on” time trial race. This is a huge achievement and legacy for both boats to leave. On their way up M2 bumped Antony’s, Corpus and John’s whilst W2 caught Corpus, Worcester, Hertford and Balliol.

Both first boats also finished the 4 days of racing in a higher position than they begun with M1 catching Worcester and Somerville and W1 catching Merton, Exeter and Teddy Hall.

At the end of this term we’d like to thank our outgoing captains Fay Amstutz, Lana Firth, Matt Clark and Howard Hall and welcome Sarah Hyland, Jo Wharton, Matt Jones and Chloe Nicklin to take up the job for the year to come.

Here’s to another blade winning Summer VIIIs competition at the end of May!

– Rowan Green, Boat Club Secretary


Share this post

Related News Posts

St Hugh’s students part of winning Oxford team in Rugby League Varsity Match
Congratulations to the Oxford University Rugby Football Club (OURFC) and our two St Hugh's team members, undergraduate Ben Hughs (Economics and Manage...
Read More
St Hugh’s skiers reach new heights
Congratulations to two members of St Hugh's College, Professor Horst Eidenmueller and Monty Pierce Jones (pictured on the right during racing), both o...
Read More
St Hugh’s FC storms to first ever Cuppers final
St Hugh's FC gave a fantastic performance at the Oxford University Football final against Brasenose on Saturday 25 February 2023. Brasenose won 1-0 af...
Read More