Skip to main content
12 July 2019

Latest News

Professor Stuart Conway becomes President of the RSC Organic Division

Professor Stuart Conway began his presidency of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Organic Division on July 10th.  The RSC’s Organic Division, which has 8700 members across education and industry, aims to encourage and promote advances in organic chemistry and works with other RSC Divisions to encourage the development of new and emerging areas of science.

Stuart is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry and the EP Abraham Cephalosporin Fellow in Organic Chemistry at St Hugh’s College.  His research interests focus on the use of organic chemistry to solve biological problems. He has particular interests in developing molecular tools to study epigenetic phenomena, and in developing methods to target and image hypoxia. The Conway group’s research has been recognised by the award of the 2012 EFMC Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia, and the 2016 Lectureship from the Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Sector of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Share this post

Related News Posts

New edition of book written by St Hugh’s alumna, Mary Renault, to be published
We are delighted to announce that a stunning new hardback edition of The Persian Boy written by novelist and alumna Mary Renault (English Lan...
Read More
Test-of-time award for article co-authored by St Hugh’s Fellow
The 2006 article titled "Reachability Analysis of Controlled Discrete-Time Stochastic Hybrid Systems", which appeared in the Proceedings of the "Hybri...
Read More
Second annual PalEvo-PalMeso lecture takes place at St Hugh’s
The 2nd Annual PalEvo-PalMeso Lecture, entitled "Geoanthropology - Long-term Human Interactions with the Earth System," took place on Wednesday 8 May ...
Read More