Skip to main content
2 May 2024

Latest News

The Colin Matthew Fund 2024 is open to applications

This fund offers travel awards for historical research to all undergraduate and graduate members of the University of Oxford.

Professor Colin Matthew was Fellow and Tutor at St Hugh’s between 1974 and 1999. His research focused on British history in the 19th and early 20th centuries, and he was internationally respected as an editor both of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography and of the diaries of William Ewart Gladstone, British Prime Minister four times between 1868 and 1894.

Applications are invited to the Colin Matthew Fund for small grants to support travel for the purposes of research for a thesis or dissertation on an historical topic. Applicants must be undergraduate or graduate students at the University (not necessarily at St Hugh’s).

The Committee for the Fund hopes to make awards up to a total value of £5,000: the maximum value of an individual award will be £500.

To apply to the Colin Matthew Fund, please complete the form below by Wednesday 29 May, 6th Week of Trinity Term. Applicants must ensure that their tutor or supervisor submits a letter in support of their application by the same date.

Applicants will be informed of the outcome before the end of Trinity Term 2024. Applications should be made via the online form in the Colin Matthew Travel Grant drop-down here.

Share this post

Related News Posts

Learn the art of Sattriya dance at St Hugh’s lecture-demonstration
St Hugh's graduate student, Oomona Das (MPhil Global and Area Studies) will be holding a lecture-demonstration on Sattriya dance on Wednesday ...
Read More
Alumni Business Breakfast: “Think like a Brand”
We were delighted to welcome our alumni to a recent Business Breakfast at the Museum of Brands in London, where our two distinguished speakers: alumna...
Read More
DPhil student of St Hugh’s Fellow awarded annual prize of Society for French Studies
Many congratulations to DPhil student Hannah Scheithauer (Queen's) who has been awarded the annual R. Gapper Postgraduate Essay Prize by the Society f...
Read More