Skip to main content
8 October 2014

Latest News

Awards for St Hugh’s Archaeology staff and students

Peter Mitchell Archaelogy book

Congratulations to Professor Peter Mitchell, Patrick Roberts and Luiseach Nic Eoin who received awards from the Society of Africanist Archaeologists.

Society of Africanist Archaeologists Book Prize 2014 (for best book published in African archaeology in 2012 and 2013):

Peter Mitchell and Paul Lane (University of Uppsala) (ed.), The Oxford Handbook of African Archaeology (Oxford: OUP 2013)

Society of Africanist Archaeologists (SAfA) Prize for Best Student Paper and Palaeontological Scientific Trust (PAST) Prize for Best Student Paper:

Patrick Roberts (St Hugh’s): Stable Carbon and Oxygen Isotope Analysis of Ostrich Eggshell Provides Evidence for Climatic Change during the Emergence of the Still Bay and Howiesons Poort Technocomplexes on the Southern Cape Coast of South Africa

Society of Africanist Archaeologists (SAfA) Prize for Best Student Poster shared by:
1) Emma Loftus (Merton): Turbo sarmaticus Stable Isotope Sampling Strategies

2) Luíseach Nic Eoin (St Hugh’s) and Adelphine Bonneau (Université de Québec-Montréal): Pounding and Painting: Characterisation and Composition of Pigments from Grindstones and Rock Art in Western Lesotho

Share this post

Related News Posts

Congratulations to Julia Millard, MBE who has been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2022
We are delighted to offer our congratulations to St Hugh's alumna, Julia Millard (née Lehmann) (History, 1987) who has been awarded an MBE in the Que...
Read More
The Geochemical Society and The European Association of Geochemistry awards St Hugh’s Fellow
Congratulations to Professorial Fellow in Geochemistry, Chris Ballentine who has been honoured with the title of Geochemistry Fellow by The Geochemica...
Read More
Congratulations to Aviv Reich (English, 2017) for essay prize success
Warm congratulations to St Hugh's student Aviv Reich (English, 2017) who has won the £400 British Association for Jewish Studies Prize for an outstan...
Read More